Archive | 3:56 pm

First Engagement Shoot Ever!

1 May

I am not a professional photographer. I am just learning the tricks of the trade and having fun learning. You might often find me with a camera bag on my shoulder and my Canon in my hand. I love to play around taking photos of different things. My sister is also into photography so it is very fun to take pictures together. I love having another eye to critique things… plus she is better at making conversation than I am. So we both jumped at the chance to work together shooting Dawn and Mike’s engagement.

Dawn is a friend of my sister and she wanted to have some great engagement pictures for her Save the Dates without the added cost of having a pro. She does have a pro for her wedding (thankfully… not sure we could handle that yet). So we headed down to the town beach to take some pictures. It was a cold and windy day in late March, but the gray skies worked to our advantage. The pictures came out great (if I do say so myself) and it was tons of fun!

We started on the beach near a rocky point.

Then we headed over to the swings…

… and down to the bridge that takes you into the park.

The next three are my personal favorites!

Thanks so much to Dawn and Mike for letting us take your engagement pictures!

Would you use an amateur photographer for engagement/wedding shoots? Let me know what you think!

-Carolyn