Happy 4th Cupcakes!

4 Jul

Happy 4th of July everyone! I hope your day is full of picnics, hotdogs, fireworks, and cupcakes. And family, friends, and loved ones. I am so grateful to live in the land of the free. Let’s take this day to remember what a great country we live in!

In honor of the 4th I decided to make some red white and blue cupcakes!!! My inspiration was all over Pinterest…

However, I didn’t find any red, white, and blue cupcakes! So I decided to make my own. First I mixed up some cake batter from a mix.

I separated it into 3 somewhat equal parts. Then I colored one part red and one part blue, leaving one third white.

I threw some cupcake liners into muffin tins (which I think should really be called cupcake tins). Then, using a soup spoon, I put the first layer of blue cake batter into the liners.

Then white…

Then red.

I put them in to bake at 350 for 18 minutes. They came out looking like this:

I love the side! I hope the layers are that neat when the cupcake is bitten in half!

Then I frosted ’em. I just did a plain white frosting since the cupcake itself has so much pizzazz.

I felt like the frosting needed a little something extra, so I dipped the tops into sparkling sugar- one of my favorite simple ways to jazz up a cupcake! I just dumped some onto a small plate and rolled the cupcake in it.

So the cupcakes with sugar looked like this:

Then I went about making some gorgeous cupcake tags to go on top. I found a really cute printable over at Tater Tots and Jello. The printable was made to be 4 inches in size when finished, which I thought was a tad big for what I was going to do with it. So I printed it at half size.

I had A LOT of cutting ahead of me! After quite a while, I got all the pieces cut out.

I put the pieces together using the instructions on the blog where I got the printable. Lots of folding and gluing to get them looking perfect. I added a toothpick in the middle so it would sit right on the top of the cupcake! Here are the finished cupcake toppers…

Pretty obsessed with them! Here they are on top of the cupcakes!

And a pic where you can see the cake layers too…

I love how these ended up coming out! I loaded them into my brand spankin’ new cupcake carrier (which is also collapsible for storage). Love how it also serves as a tiered cupcake stand.

The layers are extra tall so the cupcakes fit right in with the toppers attached!

They’re all ready to go to my uncle’s picnic later today!

Have a happy happy independence day!

-Carolyn

 

One Response to “Happy 4th Cupcakes!”

  1. Jill Hale July 4, 2011 at 10:06 am #

    You have got to start a cupcake business!

Leave a comment