Seashell Cookie Favors

20 Jun

I started planning my sister’s bridal shower well in advance. I think the first thing I bought was purchased last July. I decided it would be a beach theme and so I bought these cute cookie stamps to make favors.

Sea star, scallop shell, and sand dollar. I think they were seven dollars each, and I don’t know where I bought them but I do know that I googled cookie stamps and that is how I found them.

Then I googled “cookie stamp recipe” and went with the first recipe that came up. (I was hoping for something that didn’t include nuts because you never know).

Honey Stamped Cookies

1/2 c. butter
1 1/4 c. all-purpose flour
1/3 c. sugar
1 egg yolk
1 tbsp. honey
1/2 tsp. vanilla
Sugar (optional)

I think the recipe says to mix certain things together first, but I never do that. And I think the recipes still come out great. So mix all those together using an electric mixer. Then roll the dough into 1/2 inch balls.

Put flour on the cookie stamps (so they don’t stick to the dough) and press firmly. The shape will show up in the cookie!

The sea star and scallop shell came out perfectly. It was much harder to see the sand dollar (unfortunately) and I stopped making those after a while (and I was making these cookies for a WHILE- 250 cookies overall). I added some sparkling sugar to the top of the cookies before baking… it added a little pizzazz.

Bake the cookies at 375 for 7-10 minutes or until golden brown. I found they took much longer than what the recipe called for so trust your oven. After you take them out, let them cool for a minute on the pan, then transfer to paper towels.

I wanted each guest to leave with 5 cookies (many left with more than that because I made a few too many). I ordered some cellophane bags from Oriental Trading, bought hemp string from JoAnn’s, and made beachy tags using seashell stamps.

Each bag got ~5 cookies in it and was tied up with a tag…

I put all the bags into a large basket to have out at the shower.

People loved these favors. The cookies are sweet without being too sweet and went really well with the theme.

Here is an even better picture that my photographer aunt got!

I can’t rave about her photos enough.. make sure you go here to check out her stuff even more!

What kind of favors do you usually do for a shower or party?

2 Responses to “Seashell Cookie Favors”

  1. Lou-Ellen June 20, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    I think your postings are great and you are sooooo talented!

  2. Jill Hale June 21, 2011 at 8:09 am #

    These were perfect!

Leave a comment