…Cream Filled Cupcakes

25 Jan

It is frigid today. OMG! It needs to not ever be this cold again in my whole life.

Because of the horrible cold, I decided to make soup! Again I used my favorite cookbook (New Complete Weight Watchers) to make Creamy Potato Soup with Roasted Garlic (7 points). The soup also has ham (I used turkey ham) and green beans. It was so delicious! And I made beer bread (3 points) that I bought at a Tastefully Simple party. All you have to do is open the package, pour in a beer, and add some melted butter. It was the perfect meal for a cold day.

A lady at work is going to a different job next week so we are having lunch for her tomorrow. I decided to bring a dessert… and I am bringing cupcakes! I got a cupcake corer for Christmas and have been waiting for a reason to try it out. So I looked up a recipe for creme filled cupcakes. I used devil’s food store bought cake mix and store bought (funfetti) chocolate frosting, but I made the cream filling myself.

So here are the instructions on how to make your own!

1. Make and cook cupcakes and let them cool.

2. Core each cupcake using the corer (or you could use a knife, but the corer is definitely cooler).

3. Use a ziplock bag or a pastry tube to fill the cupcakes with cream. (I apologize for the blurry picture… I had to take it with my left hand.)

4. Frost with the chocolate frosting and decorate with the sprinkles!

So easy, right? These look so delicious. I have no idea how many points they are, but they’re too good to care. I’m bringing them into school old school style- In a shirt box. Maybe I should get one of those cupcake carriers.

Happy baking!

-Carolyn

One Response to “…Cream Filled Cupcakes”

  1. Robert Hale January 25, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    The cool cupcake corer is from Williams Sonoma and was purchased as a Christmas gift by an even cooler dad!

Leave a comment